Learning more about Mesa

The Mesa I built last week fails to load virgl, I believe. So I need to understand why.

Investigating Mesa + virtgl

I’m spending some time exploring the internals to understand how things work. An annoying issue is that the guest where I checked out Mesa has unreliable X, Gnome keeps crashing. Presumably because of Mesa 😉

Gallium software rendering fallback

From what I’ve seen on the web, Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.5, 128 bits) is an indication that Mesa fell back to software rendering. I did use

The Mesa debugging tips page is remarkably low on content, and what is there is outdated (the file dlist.c is now at src/mesa/main/dlist.c). I did not find much obvious in terms of debugging tips for Mesa.

Testing 13.0.3

Rebuild Mesa 13.0.3 from associated tag. I thought Fedora 25 was far behind, but in reality, it looks more like a version number jump from 13 to 17 (there are no 14 or 15 tags).

Rebuilding drm

Build was successful with latest updates. However, I am reluctant to install it while I’m also investigating the Mesa issue. So that testing will have to wait.

Spice with Multi-monitor

Here are some snapshots of what I get if I try a multi-head configuration with Spice.

I’m connecting to the guest with virt-viewer fedora25-qxl. The configuration file is here.

Author: Christophe de Dinechin

To the dismay of my beloved wife and kids, I still try to change the world. It's been hopelessly a work in progress for a few decades now… I'm passionate about programming techniques and programming languages, interactive 3D, real-time computing, OS design, free software, physics research, religion, the meaning of life, and so much more (see http://c3d.github.io for a few links)…

Leave a comment