Mesa DRI drivers

Will build the Mesa DRI drivers from source to see if I can fix the problem with 3D acceleration in guests.

Filing a bug report

Filed bz1426549 to describe and track the problem, now that I know who to blame.

Subscribed to the mesa-dev mailing list. I don’t get enough e-mail 😉

Building Mesa from sources

Chances are the bug is already fixed in master. If not, I’ll take my chances.

Building from source is easy. I’m starting to love dnf builddep. All I needed to get all the required dependencies was dnf builddep mesa.

Building mesa from source repairs rendering, but I no longer get vsync, and I’m not very sure about 3D acceleration being enabled. The outputs of glxgears -info tells me that I’m running Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe, instead of Gallium on virgl. I suspect I am back using a software renderer. Need to understand how to con

There is a huge jump in version number: Mesa report 3.0 Mesa 17.1.0-devel, as opposed to 3.0 Mesa 12.0.3 for the working Fedora 25 and 3.0 Mesa 13.0.3 for the failing Fedora 25. I’m surprised Fedora 25 is so far behind.

Need to configure with:

./configure --prefix=/usr --with-gallium-drivers="i915,swrast,virgl"

I initially tried with a full list, but some requirements are not met without additional fiddling, and I don’t really care about these extra drivers for now. Reconfigure, retry. Still get Gallium on llvmpipe. Hmm. Reduce the list to only have virgl, that should do it. Or should I expect no GUI?

Funny result. When I build this way, I get:

GL_RENDERER = Software Rasterizer
GL_VERSION = 2.1 Mesa 17.1.0-devel (git-ccb70d6)
GL_VENDOR = Mesa Project

The bad scenario was:

GL_RENDERER = Gallium 0.4 on virgl
GL_VERSION = 3.0 Mesa 13.0.3
GL_VENDOR = Red Hat

The scenario that works from source has:

GL_RENDERER = Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.5, 128 bits)
GL_VERSION = 3.0 Mesa 17.1.0-devel (git-ccb70d6)
GL_VENDOR = VMware, Inc.

Weird, and shows just how little I understand about Mesa configuration yet 😉

Author: Christophe de Dinechin

I try to change the world, but that's work in progress. If you want to know me, google "Christophe de Dinechin". Keywords: concept programming, virtualization, OS design, programming languages, video games, 3D, modern physics. Some stuff I did that I'm proud of: the first "true" 3D game for the PC, HP's big iron virtualization, real-time test systems for car electronics, some of the best games for the HP48 calculator, a theory of physics that makes sense (at least to me).

Leave a Reply

