Bisecting Mesa

Bisecting Mesa to see when the 3D acceleration regression was fixed.

Bisecting Mesa

Tao3D ran all night.

I want to identify the bad commit. I know 13.0.3 is bad, I know master is good. So it’s a simple case of git bisect, right?

Things are never so simple. Apparently, git bisect gets stuck because of a merge base being marked as “bad”. Looking things up on the web, it’s because… git bisect can only find the first bad commit, not the first good one 😉 So doing it backwards, where “good” means “bad” and “bad” means “good”.

Result is surprising, it looks like this commit fixes things:

commit dc2d9b8da14b97376cca9c87e2408763b11bdaa7
Author: Marc-André Lureau <marcandre.lureau@redhat.com>
Date:   Thu Feb 9 18:41:11 2017 +0400

    tgsi-dump: dump label if instruction has one
    
    The instruction has an associated label when Instruction.Label == 1,
    as can be seen in ureg_emit_label() or tgsi_build_full_instruction().
    
    This fixes dump generating extra :0 labels on conditionals, and virgl
    parsing more than the expected tokens and eventually reaching "Illegal
    command buffer" (when parsing more than a safety margin of 10 we
    currently have).
    
    Signed-off-by: Marc-André Lureau <marcandre.lureau@redhat.com>
    Cc: "13.0 17.0" <mesa-stable@lists.freedesktop.org>
    Signed-off-by: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>

Marc-André had pointed me to bz1417932. But the symptoms seemed to be somewhat different, because I had garbage on screen instead of black windows, and also some MESA-LOADER messages not referenced in the original bug report.

Marked bz1426549 as a duplicate of bz1417932.

Reinstalling Muse

Reinstalled Fedora 25 workstation on Muse. I have two possibilities for the BTRFS disaster:

  1. Either BTRFS screwed up badly, it’s a software fault, and I should not use BTRFS again,
  2. Or BTRFS reported a bad disk (which is somewhat consistent with the sector reallocation messages I saw in the kernel), it’s a hardware fault, and I should keep using BTRFS to detect if other sectors go bad.

I chose option 1, but I really don’t have much info beyond to make an informed decision, beyond information about the disk.

Spice memory allocation

Decided to take a look at spice memory allocation. Right now, there are a number of places where we statically allocate 10000 entries (NUM_SURFACES really). So we need approximately 250K for DCC private areas, when in most cases, we use one surface. That seems like a waste.

I had started this on Muse before the disk crashed, and that was part of the data that I recovered.

Linux backups

Setting up backups for my Linux machines now 😉 I’d like to do that with BTRFS snapshot replications to the server, if at all possible. OK, I know, I’m taking some chances here 😉 The latest Synology update finally brings the Snapshot Replication application to the DSM412+. So I think a simple rsync script to the DSM, with Snapshot Replication configured on the server is good enough.

This also allows me to fine-tune the backup of VMs (large files, infrequent backup) with the backup of my source editing directories (small files, frequent).

Author: Christophe de Dinechin

I try to change the world, but that's work in progress. If you want to know me, google "Christophe de Dinechin". Keywords: concept programming, virtualization, OS design, programming languages, video games, 3D, modern physics. Some stuff I did that I'm proud of: the first "true" 3D game for the PC, HP's big iron virtualization, real-time test systems for car electronics, some of the best games for the HP48 calculator, a theory of physics that makes sense (at least to me).

Leave a Reply

