VM deployment

Today I will be installing a number of VMs for testing purpose. I hope to do a few live migrations, and to build the individual components in Spice and Tao3D.

Infrastructure

If I want to deploy a number of VMs, it would be nice if I could refer to them by name. Right now, I’m using zeroconf, but it’s not very reliable. So time to setup a DNS server, change the DHCP server.

For some reason, the FreeBox (my ISP router) insists on serving IPv6 DNS first, and I found no way to point that to my DNS server. So for now, I had to disable IPv6, which I’m not using much anyway.

But it’s cool to finally be able to drop the .local suffix when addressing my local machines. Now, ssh big is good enough.

Migration

Tried to understand how to setup a VM that can migrate between two hosts. So far, I’ve only been successful with NAT-based networking. The problem may be that the name of the network device on the two hosts is not the same. On Big, it is eno1. On Gigo, it is enp4s0. Not sure where the difference comes from.

I’m pretty sure there is a way to “alias” networking devices to enable migration even if the physical device names are not the same. But it’s not entirely obvious, even with the help of Google. When I figure out how to do it, I’ll post it here.

Trying to boot a guest from a physical disk

Gigo has a disk with a 64-bit Fedora 25 server. But another disk contains an old 32-bit Ubuntu 14 that I’m interested in preserving, because it holds among other things a functioning build environment for 32-bit Tao3D generating .deb files for Ubuntu.

So I tried to setup a VM that would boot that disk. So far, I have not been very far. The GUI does not make that easy, so I tried to figure out how to do that manually.

 

Author: Christophe de Dinechin

I try to change the world, but that's work in progress. If you want to know me, google "Christophe de Dinechin". Keywords: concept programming, virtualization, OS design, programming languages, video games, 3D, modern physics. Some stuff I did that I'm proud of: the first "true" 3D game for the PC, HP's big iron virtualization, real-time test systems for car electronics, some of the best games for the HP48 calculator, a theory of physics that makes sense (at least to me).

Leave a Reply

