Test it until it breaks

After all the hardware reconfiguration yesterday, it’s time to test that stuff, hard. Shake until it breaks.

Burn-in tests

Both Shuttle and Big are now running burn-in tests.

Shuttle

On Shuttle, I have two Fedora 25 VMs, one on a regular qcow2 file, one on a vmdk. I am using these VMs as a burn-in test since they were really unstable in the past, so if that keeps working for a while, I will “know” that the issue is fixed. Both VMs are 4VCPUS (max 8) and 2G (max 12). They both build Linux kernels in a loop.

The host is itself also building Linux in a loop.

I’ll declare success if the machine is still alive and kicking this evening.

It apparently survived a whole day of shaking VMs around. So I think it’s finally good to go. I’ll probably buy another 8G of memory to have enough for a few VMs, but for now, it’s better than a machine that dies every other hour.

Big

Big never caused me any kind of trouble, so I will be spending most of the time installing stuff. Starting with all possible desktops, just because someone suggested that installing a desktop environment on a server was a proof of insanity. But also because I’m curious to see how each of these desktops may impact Spice or GL rendering.

I found a number of interesting issues, like the ginormic cursor of Sugar “leaking” to Gnome, so I had to use gnome-tweak-tool to revert it to something more acceptable.

I began setting up VMs on this machine.

Amp

The media server PC has Ubuntu installed, which has memtest86 in its boot options. Let’s take advantage of that. I’ll probably run memtest for a while just to check if things look good.

Ran the test for 5 hours, two passes. I declare it go.

Bugs

Filed some bugs for the stuff I ran into earlier:

  1. BZ1418599 about the Hawaii Desktop not responding to user input after installation on a Fedora 25 Server edition.
  2. BZ1418600 about two-finger touches interrupting one-finger movement on trackpad.
  3. BZ1418601 about Anaconda starting on some random monitor in case multiple monitors are available. In my case, it started on the HTC Vive display, which is inconvenient, to say the least.
  4. BZ1418605 about a case where dismissing a dialog box in virt-manager closes the application instead of closing the dialog.
Author: Christophe de Dinechin

I try to change the world, but that's work in progress. If you want to know me, google "Christophe de Dinechin". Keywords: concept programming, virtualization, OS design, programming languages, video games, 3D, modern physics. Some stuff I did that I'm proud of: the first "true" 3D game for the PC, HP's big iron virtualization, real-time test systems for car electronics, some of the best games for the HP48 calculator, a theory of physics that makes sense (at least to me).

Leave a Reply

