Shuttle finally stable?

It looks like the Shuttle PC is finally stable. This is a good thing, since my intent is to turn that into a little workhorse of sorts.

Administrative and hardware stuff

Who should I send my expense receipts to? Found a candidate, hope it’s the right person.

I’m not very satisfied with the wi-fi performance in my new office, with all the VNC, Spice and disk sharing traffic. So I tried:

  1. to drag a cable from the nearby switch, but I’m about 50cm short. Need to buy a longer Ethernet cable if I want to go that route.
  2. To use another laptop that would be closer to the base station, and use Internet Sharing on that laptop. For some reason, Internet Sharing works reliably if I serve from the Red Hat Macbook, but not if I serve from my personal Macbook. Weird. No desire to investigate further.
  3. Trying to use a power-line network adapter, in addition to the Wi-Fi. It does not work too well. Reporting 1MB/s transfer rates. Ouch.

Spice builds

Still building the first run on the Mac. The initial bootstrap takes forever, I should have left that running overnight.

On Linux, jhbuild sysdeps --install fails with:

I: Computing packages to install. This might be slow. Please wait.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/bin/jhbuild", line 32, in 
jhbuild.main.main(sys.argv[1:])
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/jhbuild/main.py", line 155, in main
rc = jhbuild.commands.run(command, config, args, help=lambda: print_help(parser))
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/jhbuild/commands/__init__.py", line 191, in run
return cmd.execute(config, args, help)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/jhbuild/commands/__init__.py", line 53, in execute
return self.run(config, options, args, help)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/jhbuild/commands/sysdeps.py", line 214, in run
installer.install(uninstalled)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/jhbuild/utils/systeminstall.py", line 279, in install
txn_tx, txn = self._get_new_transaction()
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/jhbuild/utils/systeminstall.py", line 257, in _get_new_transaction
import dbus.glib
ImportError: No module named dbus.glib

So I guess it can figure out most of the dependencies, but not its own 🙂 The Internet tells me it’s time to dnf install dbus-python. Then I get a  more interesting warning:

I: This might take a very long time. Do not turn off your computer. You can run `pkmon’ to monitor progress.

In reality, it takes much less time than on the Mac. Goodness of using a package manager instead of rebuilding everything from scratch, I suppose. Then jhbuild sanitycheck works.

But then I get:

jhbuild build: failed to parse /home/ddd/spice/spice-jhbuild/modulesets/spice.xml: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: ‘/home/ddd/spice/spice-jhbuild/modulesets/spice.xml’

Strange, because the file is there and is readable.

VMware GPU issue

A candidate fix was proposed by Sinclair. Testing. Unfortunately, no go…

Author: Christophe de Dinechin

I try to change the world, but that's work in progress. If you want to know me, google "Christophe de Dinechin". Keywords: concept programming, virtualization, OS design, programming languages, video games, 3D, modern physics. Some stuff I did that I'm proud of: the first "true" 3D game for the PC, HP's big iron virtualization, real-time test systems for car electronics, some of the best games for the HP48 calculator, a theory of physics that makes sense (at least to me).

Leave a Reply

