First kernel bug report

Today, I filed my first kernel bug report using a Red Hat address.

Linux kernel hang

I created a kernel Bugzilla account and reported the Linux kernel hang I first saw last Friday. While I was at it, I updated the bugzilla entry about the Wi-Fi driver crash I saw to report it does not occur for me on 4.9.

Began to bisect, but it takes a couple of hours per build, and there are 13 steps, so this is going to block this VM for quite a while. I need more resources 🙂 Time to install more hosts and more guests.

Guest hang is not just graphical

I was wondering if the problem I was seeing was just with the graphical subsystem. But no. A normal boot gives me that:

[  OK  ] Started WPA supplicant.
[  OK  ] Started Location Lookup Service.
[  OK  ] Started PackageKit Daemon.
         Starting Fingerprint Authentication Daemon...
[  OK  ] Started Fingerprint Authentication Daemon.

Fedora 25 (Workstation Edition)
Kernel 4.9.0 on an x86_64 (ttyS1)

localhost login: 

So I get a login prompt, which I never have when the kernel hangs.

Bisect history

72cca7baf4fba777b8ab770b902cf2e08941773f: Bad
b8d2798f32785398fcd1c48ea80c0c6c5ab88537: Good

Hosts install

Tower PC

I have a relatively large tower at home (24G of RAM, some disk space and unused disk slots). It’s currently running Windows, and it’s out of the question that it can’t, because there is a HTC Vive connected to it. So it hosts a number of VMs.

Tried to make some room on it to free a whole disk so that I can put Linux on it. It takes a while to backup the data over the network, that probably won’t be finished today.

Shuttle PC

Plan B: resurrect a small Shuttle PC. It’s always had “a mind of its own”. Find a small external disk for the system and a larger one for VMs, reorganize the place and cables so that everything fits. It’s funny how time flies when you start doing some hardware, even at the most basic level 🙂

Tried to explore how to remote-access Wayland. I could “go easy” and run Xvnc over a regular X session, but I’m tempted to see how the “new stuff” performs. Apparently, there is a way to run Weston in “RDP” mode, and I have an RDP client for the Mac. To run Winston RDP back-end:

winpr-makecert -rdp
mkdir /var/run/display
export XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=/var/run/display
weston --backend=rdp-backend.so --rdp-tls-cert=$device.crt --rdp-tls-key=$device.key --width=1024 --height=768 --socket=wayland-1

That part is easy. But connecting with a Microsoft RDP client spouts out a number of errors on the client side. To investigate.

Additional Macs

Plan C: Remote connexion to two other Macs at home. Very quickly, I ran out of disk space on both. VMs have a tendency to suck disk space like crazy, none of these machines has 50GB of hard disk to spare, and I already tested that VMs-over-the-network don’t seem to work too well.

Thinking more about it, I think it should work. I have been doing some video editing and other rather heavy stuff over the same network. I need to check if at least the Shuttle PC (which is connected over 1Gb Ethernet to the NAS) would be OK with having the VMs mounted over NFS.

Other stuff

Prepared for the New Hire Orientation meeting.

Author: Christophe de Dinechin

I try to change the world, but that's work in progress. If you want to know me, google "Christophe de Dinechin". Keywords: concept programming, virtualization, OS design, programming languages, video games, 3D, modern physics. Some stuff I did that I'm proud of: the first "true" 3D game for the PC, HP's big iron virtualization, real-time test systems for car electronics, some of the best games for the HP48 calculator, a theory of physics that makes sense (at least to me).

Leave a Reply

