More virtual machine setup

Getting VMware to boot my Linux partition on the OSX root disk is somewhat difficult.

Running virtual machines from a partition

One of the things I want to do is to run my Linux partition as an OSX guest and to run my OSX partition as a KVM guest. I don’t expect this to be terribly easy, but it should be doable. In the end, I did not figure it out yet today.

Adding a physical disk in a VM

How to add a physical disk is documented here. That part seems to work. In my case, I created the disk with:

./vmware-rawdiskCreator create /dev/disk0 1,4,5,6,7 ~/Documents/Virtual\ Machines.localized/Partition\ -\ Fedora\ 25\ 64-bit.vmwarevm/PhysicalLinuxPartitions lsilogic

I had to google a bit to convince myself that the original proposal to use IDE was not a good idea (no pun intended). I pulled the macOS Sierra VM setup, noticed that they were not using SCSI either, but SATA, so I tried that. In the end, my configuration changes (done after testing that it did not work without them) included:

sata0:0.present = "FALSE"
sata0:0.fileName = "PhysicalLinuxPartitions.vmdk"

And also added a line to select the EFI firmware, since that’s what the hardware boots with (also pulled from the macOS Sierra VM):

firmware = "efi"

My assumption here is that the setup is designed for a physical machine that boots macOS, so that it’s likely everything is configured to boot from EFI with a hardware that looks like a Mac.

Well, the assumption is clearly not entirely correct: the VM does not boot, it goes straight to network boot.

macOS Sierra VM stuck at 1024×768?

I also created a macOS Sierra virtual machine that I can use to test before I run anything on my “real” partition. VMware has some trouble with window resizing and resolution changes, and the workaround is to resort to a command-line utility… which is not in my current version of VMware tools. So I guess I’m stuck to 1024×768 for now, which is a bit old school. I may not use that VM much after all.

Spice development

Following a couple of questions I asked on a design document, Frediano Ziglio took some time to chat with me about the design. He also shared the repository where this is currently published for review. Working in the open on new stuff, I really like that. He also published a video on YouTube (duh) showing the current state:

Some of Christophe Fergeau’s spice stuff is here: ~teuf/spice – teuf’s spice git repository.

Administrative stuff

Edited my internal profile on the internal portal. Red Hat has provisions for most western social networks, so copy-pasting URLs to my Linked In, Facebook, Twitter, etc. This is quite comfortable.

There are some self-service tools for many tasks. I can change my name to Christophe de Dinechin (I actually created a ticket for that on the first day). It irks me to have automated systems call me “Christophe Marie François Dupont de Dinechin”. But then it’s a pretty good way to detect if a machine sent the message or not 😉

Some issues with calendar setup. Google still defaults to my personal account. With Red Hat two-factor authentication, I am not positive I can easily pull my Red Hat calendar on my iPhone like I used to do with Exchange-based servers at DxO. Still, if there’s one thing I want on my phone, it’s calendar events. There is probably a way to do that, but that’s for another day.

Discovering the Adium IRC client. I’m giving it a try, but I I’m going to return to Emacs soon 😉

Saw a message about something called EtherCalc. I find the concept interesting, though I don’t see any immediate use for it.

Author: Christophe de Dinechin

I try to change the world, but that's work in progress. If you want to know me, google "Christophe de Dinechin". Keywords: concept programming, virtualization, OS design, programming languages, video games, 3D, modern physics. Some stuff I did that I'm proud of: the first "true" 3D game for the PC, HP's big iron virtualization, real-time test systems for car electronics, some of the best games for the HP48 calculator, a theory of physics that makes sense (at least to me).

Leave a Reply

