Installing virtual machines

Today is virtual machine installation day.

Running Linux partition from OSX with VMware

The first thing I want to try is to run my Linux partition from within OSX and conversely. Apparently, this is not very easy to do. There was an article describing how to do it here, but the link is dead (I found the link on stackexchange). VMware is not officially supporting partitions created by other tools than BootCamp. So I guess I will have to do some guesswork.

Distraction: Installing OSX guest from recovery partition

But what I found is an interesting option, which is to build an OSX virtual machine from a recovery partition. That’s a good way to build OSX VMs that I can presumably then run from another host. And it may also be a good way to do some testing for my own software projects with “clean” versions of OSX, where I did not already install tons of additional software. A good way to identify dependencies. I need to try that.

Curiously, VMware defaults to 2GB of memory for the VM. That seems really low for OSX 10.10, but I will let it go with this setup. Also, probably taking risks, but I’m trying to install on a network drive. I don’t want to start consuming precious space on the laptop’s “tiny” SSD.

It’s been installing for nearly 30 minutes now, all the while showing “About 5 minutes remaining”. Progress bars have always been the subject of jokes.

Installing Fedora 25 as a guest

I began installing Fedora 25 as a guest. Interestingly, within the VM, I ran into the same repeating keyboard issues I had observed on my little Mac Mini Server. So whoever attributed that to the Apple crappy hardware was dead wrong.

My system is a bit overloaded at the moment. So this may be an issue related to timing or CPU usage. To keep in mind until I figure things out.

Annoying Window Manager bug on OSX

I was really not pleased when Apple reworked their implementation of full screen to ensure it no longer worked right. It keeps bugging me to this day.

Remember, back in the old days of System 7, it was possible to put a window halfway between two monitors. I’m pretty positive It even worked if the two monitors had different color depths. Since Lion, it’s no longer possible. Instead, when you move a window from one monitor to another, it ends up showing on only one of the monitors.

The problem occurs if you move a window (in my case a Safari window) to a monitor that is above your current monitor, and if the window is higher than that target screen. What happens in that case is that the window’s bottom half shows up on the bottom monitor while you are dragging it, but the title bar and everything are on the top monitor. When you release the window in that configuration, it simply disappears.

The window is still there, and visible in Mission Control. But it does not show up on any screen. You can move it around from monitor to monitor through mission control, it still remains perfectly invisible. Sometimes, if you are lucky, the bottom of the window will appear somewhere, but if you attempt to resize it, macOS smartly reduces it to “above your screen” so that you can no longer drag it. 😦

Author: Christophe de Dinechin

I try to change the world, but that's work in progress. If you want to know me, google "Christophe de Dinechin". Keywords: concept programming, virtualization, OS design, programming languages, video games, 3D, modern physics. Some stuff I did that I'm proud of: the first "true" 3D game for the PC, HP's big iron virtualization, real-time test systems for car electronics, some of the best games for the HP48 calculator, a theory of physics that makes sense (at least to me).

Leave a Reply

